I tried a Zumba dance class tonight, which turned out to be an hour of trying to work out what she was doing and translate that into what my body should be doing, and mostly not getting it quite right. It was a bit like being thrown in the deep end, which I don't like. I remember feeling like that when I started choreographed dance classes on the 3rd week and felt totally out of my depth; but of course once I got used to it, and started learning it, I loved it. So I won't chuck this away on this one experience.
I used to do dancing quite regularly but not for 3 years or so, and I have totally lost that flexibility and wiggle.. ok not that I ever had much but I could shimmy ok! Now I feel stiff and ungainly especially when comparing myself with the sylph-like teacher who was hip-swinging her way through the moves. And my brain hurt. And my leg hurts. And I'm tired Hummm I think it's time for a rest from the gym for the rest of this week.
I used to have a good workout routine going: Tuesday and Thursday evenings and something at the weekend, and it was just right. Then a lot of the staff changed and the timetable changed and I haven't got back into to a new routine yet, so now I end up going more than I really want to, plus I've been trying out different things which is good but I haven't enjoyed them all. So I'm feeling a bit down right now about the whole thing; I must sit down and work out which classes I want to do and settle into a new routine.
I need routine now anyway, because my OU study books have just arrived, whoohoo! It doesn't start until the beginning of October and the website doesn't open until 27 September but I can start reading. I must decide when and where I am going to do my studying... somehow I managed it with Mr H home from January to May this year but I can't remember how!
The final instructions have just come through for my next hill climb (and last for 2012), it's on the 21st Sept so I'm looking forward to that. Mr H says he feels as though he should be working on the car! I suggested he went round and checked all the nuts and bolts in the suspension ;) I'm sure Django will be happy to help him as always....
Before that, however, we have the Goodwood Revival to go to this Sunday. Rosie, bless her, has offered the use of their cottage up the road from Goodwood for Saturday night so we will make a weekend of it. As this is Mr H's birthday present it will be a nice extra. We're going in the Imp so will be parked in the pre-1971 carpark, and have some suitably 'period' style clothes to wear.
Well it's time for a cup of tea, so goodnight for now,
Jx
Showing posts with label Gym. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Gym. Show all posts
Wednesday, 12 September 2012
Hummm
Labels:
Django,
Gym,
Hillman Imp,
Speed Hillclimb,
Studying
Thursday, 28 June 2012
Pushing the limits
I'm just back from the gym and for the first time in 5 weeks I was in tears in a class because I'd overdone it and my hip hurt and I hate that it is still controlling my limits after 2 years.
It was my own fault. So far in my gym classes I've been quite wary of anything that *might* hurt, ie. star jumps, running etc. Today for some reason I thought "well I've got to try it sometime" and for a bit it was ok, but then it all went wrong.
I've taken two steps forward over the last month, I guess this was my one step back.. time to back off a bit again.
But if we never push ourselves to our limits, how do we find out what our limits are....?
It was my own fault. So far in my gym classes I've been quite wary of anything that *might* hurt, ie. star jumps, running etc. Today for some reason I thought "well I've got to try it sometime" and for a bit it was ok, but then it all went wrong.
I've taken two steps forward over the last month, I guess this was my one step back.. time to back off a bit again.
But if we never push ourselves to our limits, how do we find out what our limits are....?
Tuesday, 10 January 2012
Water splashing
The term "Aquaerobics" has always prompted the vision of middle-aged, overweight women, floundering around in the pool while Mr H and I pounded in the gym upstairs. Poor, sad women who couldn't do real exercise, losers huh?
Well not any more.
I don't like the gym any more - it doesn't help that the local one is a miserable little box which is always too crowded (I'm not going to start driving 5 miles to a larger gym when there is one within walking distance). All it shows on TV is Beyonce strutting her booty, or some X-factor band I've never heard of. I know a lot of women hate going to the gym because they are body-conscious compared with the seasoned pros that go, but that has never bothered me - I'm happy looking like a woman! No, I just got bored with it.
So, having decided that I need more exercise, last night I went to aquaerobics. It was full of middle-aged, overweight women which probably now includes me, and one man. So much for no exercise, it was hard work with an enthusiastic instructor urging us to go faster, while not taking into account the water working against us! I really threw myself into it knowing that I wasn't going to damage my leg or get sweaty, not with water splashing over me from my own and my neighbours flailing arms...
I came out of the pool with that slightly weak feeling of post-exertion, but with a smile on my face.
If that makes me a loser, then so be it!
Well not any more.
I don't like the gym any more - it doesn't help that the local one is a miserable little box which is always too crowded (I'm not going to start driving 5 miles to a larger gym when there is one within walking distance). All it shows on TV is Beyonce strutting her booty, or some X-factor band I've never heard of. I know a lot of women hate going to the gym because they are body-conscious compared with the seasoned pros that go, but that has never bothered me - I'm happy looking like a woman! No, I just got bored with it.
So, having decided that I need more exercise, last night I went to aquaerobics. It was full of middle-aged, overweight women which probably now includes me, and one man. So much for no exercise, it was hard work with an enthusiastic instructor urging us to go faster, while not taking into account the water working against us! I really threw myself into it knowing that I wasn't going to damage my leg or get sweaty, not with water splashing over me from my own and my neighbours flailing arms...
I came out of the pool with that slightly weak feeling of post-exertion, but with a smile on my face.
If that makes me a loser, then so be it!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)